Get to know Serengeti’s four regions: Serengeti National Park is one of the most astonishing attractions in Africa. It captures the imaginations of travelers around the world with its richness in wildlife and the Great Wildebeest Migration. It is amazing to be in this world-famous wildlife park.

Get to know Serengeti’s four regions

Serengeti National Park spans an area of about 14,750 square kilometers and is part of the 30,000-square-kilometer Serengeti Ecosystem. With such a large area, you may be confused a little bit about which region you should visit first. Worry not: Explore East Africa Safaris is here to simplify it for you. Serengeti National Park is divided into four regions: Central Serengeti, Northern Serengeti, Southern Serengeti, and Western Serengeti.

Central Serengeti

The Central Serengeti is sometimes called the “heart of the Serengeti.” This region is characterized by stunning landscapes that are made of vast plains, granitekopjes, and savannahs that are dotted with acacia trees. There is a permanent source of water in the central Serengeti, the Seronera River, which never becomes dry throughout the year. This majestic river is densely populated by leopards, which are usually seen in kopjes basking in the sun.

Apart from leopards, many animals call this place home. It is the region of Serengeti National Park where you can find a large concentration of wild animals, including herbivores such as giraffes, zebras, antelopes, impalas, hippos, topi, warthogs, and predators like cheetahs, hyenas, and leopards. The Big Five animals are resident in this region. You will therefore see lions, elephants, buffalos, leopards, and rhinos on your visit to the Central Serengeti.

The great wildebeest migration crosses this region in April on the way to the Western Corridor and in November when the herd heads to the greener pastures in the Southern Serengeti. If you want to witness this world’s spectacle, you have to visit the Central Serengeti in April or November. You will witness massive trekking as the wildebeest search for water and pasture in the Seronera Valley.

Get to know Serengeti’s four regions
Wildebeest Migration

Southern Serengeti

The Southern Serengeti is characterized by expansive plains stretching from the western side of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area. The plains harbor a variety of wild animals, including wildebeests, zebras, antelopes, buffalos, and other herbivores. They are not only grazing grounds for herbivores but also hiding places for predators, such as lions, leopards, hyenas, and cheetahs. Several birds reside in the short-grass plains of the Southern Serengeti, such as ostriches, secretary birds, and many others.

The ecosystem of the southern Serengeti is supported by two lakes, Lake Masek and Lake Ndutu, which serve as sources of water for wildlife. Other seasonal lakes also exist in the southern Serengeti. These lakes are surrounded by woodlands that host several birds, including the colorful Fischer’s lovebird.

The southern Serengeti becomes the mysterious hotspot in December when the wildebeests return from the northern Serengeti. Between January and February, the Ndutu area witnesses the calving season every year. The newly born calves are vulnerable to death as the big cats and other predators explore for easy prey, though it is not such easy because the mother wildebeests are overprotective of their calves.

Western Serengeti

The Western Serengeti is also known as the Western Corridor. It is characterized by open woodlands, grass plains, and riverine forests. The major highlight in the Western Corridor is the Grumeti River, which supplies water to thousands of wild animals and birds. Another stunning river in the Western Corridor is the Mbalageti, which flows parallel to the Grumeti River before emptying into Lake Victoria.

The Western Corridor is home to several wild animals, including elephants, giraffes, antelopes, and other grazers. The wildebeest migration is on the Western Corridor between late May and June and sometimes July. The major highlight to see here at this mighty Grumeti River is the crossing of the Grumeti River. Predators such as lions, cheetahs, hyenas, and leopards follow this herd after their next kill. The hungry Nile crocodiles in the river wait for a brave wildebeest to cross to have a meal.

We organize balloon safaris in the western corridor to offer an interesting aerial view of the region. These safaris are organized between June and July to see the large herds of wildebeests and other wild animals.

Northern Serengeti

The northern Serengeti is characterized by diverse landscapes ranging from rolling hills like the Lobo Hills to rock outcrops and dense woodlands. This region is permanently inhabited by several animals, such as lions, leopards, cheetahs, zebras, elephants, buffalos, and many others.

The mighty Mara River is the major highlight of the northern Serengeti. The region becomes very busy with tourist activities because thousands of visitors venture to see crossings of the Mara River, especially between July and August. The wildebeests brave the crocodile-rich Mara River while the crocodiles wait for their prey to enter the river to get a meal. It is the battle between life and death. The Mara River is a gigantic obstruction to the great wildebeest migration.

Several safaris are organized in this region, including game drives, bird-watching safaris, and balloon safaris.

At Focus East Africa Tours, we offer authentic Tanzania safaris to splendid destinations. Our icon is Serengeti National Park, where we take our clients to discover the wonders in its regions. If you want to travel sustainably in the Serengeti’s four regions, consider booking a trip with Focus East Africa Tours.

book a safari